The Royal Lancers and Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Museum

The Queen's Royal Lancers

The Queen's Royal Lancers is a serving armoured regiment based in Catterick, with Her Majesty the Queen as its Colonel-in-Chief. The cap badge is known as 'the motto' - death or glory - because of the skull and crossed bones above 'or glory'. The six cavalry regiments amalgamated to form The Queen's Royal Lancers are: the 5th, 16th, 17th and 21st Lancers, the 16th/5th Lancers and the 17th/21st Lancers.

Regimental histories

Use the Quick Link buttons below to go straight to your regiment of interest.

5th Lancers 16th Lancers 16th/5th Lancers
17th Lancers 21st Lancers 17th/21st Lancers
The Queen's Royal Lancers    

Battles and campaigns

The Queen's Royal Lancers and its antecedent regiments took part in the great wars and battles of the last three centuries, including the American War of Independence, the Battle of Waterloo, the Charge at Aliwal, the Charge of the Light Brigade, the Zulu War, the Indian Mutiny, the Charge at Omdurman, the Boer War, the Great War, the Second World War and the Gulf War. If you are interested in a particular battle or campaign, use our seach facility to find all the relevant pages on our site.



Use the Quick Link buttons below to select your video.

Charge of the Light Brigade Battle of Fondouk QRL in Iraq