The Museum

The Royal Lancers and Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Museum is accommodated in a refurbished space spanning the front of Thresby Courtyard, set within the stunning surroundings of Thoresby Park.

The museum was opened by HRH Princess Alexandra on Tuesday 26th July 2011. Since then thousands of visitors have toured this fascinating new display.

Inside the Museum | RLNY Museum

Inside the Museum

The Royal Lancers and Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Museum tells the story of cavalry in the British Army, from the days of the horseback charge, through the great tank battles of the Second World War, to present-day operations in Iraq and Afghanistan. A series of graphic panels and display cases, learning zones and video presentations, take visitors through our fascinating story.Our collection of arms, uniforms, medals, silver and paintings illustrate the regiments’ part in the great battles of the last three centuries.

Treasury of Artefacts

Our treasury of artefacts bring history to life, allowing visitors to discover the intriguing history of our regiments and examine our most fascinating items. See an original ‘red-coat’ as worn during the American War of Independence, a tin of chocolate from the Boer War, and the original bugle blown to sound the Charge of the Light Brigade.

Treasury of Artefacts | RLNY Museum
Mick Holtby | RLNY Museum

Capt Mick Holtby AMA

The Curator

Robert Osborn | RLNY Museum

Robert Osborn

Assistant Curator

Museum Brochure | RLNY Museum

Museum Brochure

The QRLNY Museum’s new brochure can be downloaded here to print out. It contains full location and opening information in preparation for your visit.

Download

Become a Volunteer

The RLNY Museum is actively seeking new volunteers. Are you interested in military and social history, or have an interest in the cavalry regiments which we represent?

Volunteer

Become a Friend

You can also support us by becoming a Friend of the Museum. Your support will help ensure the future of our museum.

Become a Friend

Help the Museum

Please consider making a donation to the RLNY Museum, to help us to present the history of these famous regiments to the widest possible audience.

Donate
Find Us at Thoresby Courtyard | RLNY Museum

Find Us at Thoresby Courtyard

Thoresby Courtyard welcomes 80,000 visitors a year. The Royal Lancers and Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Museum is accommodated in a refurbished space spanning the front of the Courtyard, itself converted from the old stables, coach houses and riding school originally belonging to Thoresby Hall.

Shops in the Courtyard include jewellery, hot glass blowing, craft materials, homewares, children’s gifts, exquisite fashions, artworks, old fashioned sweets, and plants. The licensed Bay Tree Cafe serves lunches and cream teas.

Thoresby Gallery | RLNY Museum

Thoresby Gallery

The Gallery has an eclectic calendar of exhibitions by local artists. Thoresby Courtyard is also home to the Permanant Collection of drawings and paintings by Marie-Louise Roosevelt Pierrepont, on show in the Loose Box Gallery.

Thoresby Park | RLNY Museum

Thoresby Park

Thoresby Park has been owned by the Pierrepont family since 1600 and during that time they have built three houses. The first, a Jacobean mansion, was burnt down. The second was demolished to make way for the present building, designed by Anthony Salvin and built for the 3rd Earl Manvers in 1860.ry.

Thoresby Hall | RLNY Museum

Thoresby Hall

The present Thoresby Hall, a Grade I listed mansion set in parklands by Capability Brown, was home to the Manvers family until the death of the 8th Earl in 1955. Today it is a luxury hotel, but its walls remain adorned with armour, weaponry and family portraits, and the Pierrepont coat-of-arms still dominates the Grand Hall.

Establishing our new museum at Thoresby was made possible by a partnership with the Stonebridge Trust, which provided space in the Courtyard and contributed to the capital costs, the Leader Project, which provides European funds for rural regeneration, and the Heretiage Lottery Fund. The project is also supported by Friends of the Museum.

Become a Friend
Sister Museum | RLNY Museum

9th/12th Royal Lancers Museum

In May 2015 the Queen’s Royal Lancers amalgamated with the 9th/12th Royal Lancers to form the Royal Lancers.

Discover our Sister Museum